Project 3: Poetics

I had a difficult time in the beginning deciding simply what I should compose on my site and how to portray my product in a way that was logical and would get the idea across the best and most effectively. I decided to make the site appear very clean and organized to aid this, and the intended audience is artists in the film field, as well as people who simply watch movies and want a more intense experience. I felt that my product was a little difficult to convey visually and that my site required more writing and explaining than images, as I felt there wasn’t much found-images that would strongly help my project. I created a sketch, as well as a modest diagram that was combined with the sketch in order to convey my idea more thoroughly, as opposed to just using words. The product itself that I’m essentially explaining on my website is very visual and I was slightly disappointed that I couldn’t use more visuals throughout the website. I could have used more images, but when I viewed the website with a clear mind and while pretending to be my intended audience, certain images I had on the website prior weren’t the most helpful in understanding the product and what I was trying to portray, so I decided to add more words. I also thought that it might be more interesting to discuss about the visual possibilities of the product without too many images because it sort of makes the audience want to learn more and know what the product itself can do. Plus when the audience isn’t overloaded with images, it allows them to use their imagination and create what they want the product to be like in their own minds. Sometimes an intended lack of information is a good thing and can be used in advantage of the producer. My field is very visual and I tend to not be the best with words, which is partially why I am in the film field; it’s easier for me to speak with images rather than words so I wanted to challenge myself in addition. My key objective was to teach the audience about the formation of the product, the potential of it, as well as the different uses it can have. I combined the product with the Dolby Atmos system in order to further aid the effect of the product and create an even more immersive atmosphere, which is what I was aiming for when the idea about this technology emerged. I wanted the audience to feel educated about the idea, but not overly educated so that the intended audience would have the desire to still learn more about it.

Leave a comment